Book Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Screen Shot 2016-05-22 at 9.02.17 PM

Title: Prodigy (Legend, #2)

Author: Marie Lu

Page Number: 354

Date Published: January 29th, 2013

Publisher: Penguin Books

Rating:Star FullStar FullStar FullStar FullStar Full (5/5)

Synopsis:

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

After finishing this book, I was unspeakable. It literally left me sitting there, numb. The pace of the book is PERFECT. It starts at a slower pace, then it dramatically increased
speed. Everything starts
to happen in a rush. It made you impossible to put down the book. Then, everything starts to slow down at the end.

Reading this book made me bury beneath my emotions. It made me forget that it is a book, forget that I’m actually reading a book with pages of WORDS. Alright, what I’m trying to say here is: go read the book if you haven’t already! Rarely have I read a book that is so perfectly written. Everything is perfect, the characters, the plot, the pacing, you get the point.

The Characters ❤︎

I just cannot get enough of the characters. I don’t want the book to END. I got super relieved when June and Day reached safety.  I got super mad when they got an argument. I got just so anxious when the characters got in danger. Marie Lu’s writing is marvelous at making the reader too emotional.

June is as badass and brave as usual. You just got to admire her. Well, who gets to go to a military university at the age of twelve?

“The following seems to happen in slow motion. The door creaks open and light spills in. Immediately I make a small jump and step one leg up-my foot lands silently on the doorknob as the door swings toward me. As the soldiers enter the room with their guns drawn, I reach up and grab the top of the frame by using the doorknob as a step. I pull myself up. Without a sound, I perch on top of the open door like a cat.”

—June from Prodigy, page 88

Then there’s Day. I just have to admire his selfless heart. It’s like he can give up anything for June.

“Something tingles at the back of my mind, a sixth sense, warning me that whatever I’d planned to do to the Elector will shift depending on what June does next.”

—Day from Prodigy, page 231


***SPOILERS BELOW***


The ending of the book BROKE MY HEART. I didn’t read the third book yet, but this ending of Prodigy shattered my heart. I mean how could June and Day break up after EVERYTHING they had done together. They can’t just simply let go. I couldn’t believe my eyes when Day and June kissed goodbye. It is just purely heartbreaking.

 

Leave a comment